Etiquette looking for a student for a wedding

TiCoyote

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My fiancee and I are getting married in June of 2010. Being an amateur photag myself, I would like to hire a student to shoot our wedding. I think it would be a nice way for a student to build a portfolio and earn a little money. We live in Providence near RISD, AI, and a few other schools.

I put a posting on RISD's digital job and submissions board. I was also thinking about e-mailing the head of the photography dept. When I was in college, I studied painting, and every once in a while our professor would approach a student with an opportunity, so I think this is reasonable. My fiancee thinks that the request is inappropriate, and I might offend someone.

Thoughts?

I would think that as a photographer yourself, you would put more importance on the photos for your wedding...and thus would hire a pro who's work you really admire.
But, each to their own I guess.

I definitely think that calling or E-mailing the head of the photography department is a great idea. They would probably be a great person to know who the up and coming stars are. They could probably even direct you to someone that fits a certain style, if you give them some idea as to what you're looking for.

I will do it for free if you pay for the plane ticket =).

If i had the money id rather pay a pro, but this is still a great idea, much better then picking up some random dude off craigslist

Definately better than going to craiglists where you find people who do not always have the proper idea of what makes a good photo.

Good on you for thinking of the students. Maybe turn it into an assignment and get 3-4 students there...or a paparazzi event and get an entire class :)