Exports to JPG too dark

MACollum

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
After trying the beta version of Lightroom I fell in love with it. I finally got it but I'm having a bit of trouble with color. After editing the photos, they look good in LR but when I export them to JPG they look darker than they did in LR. I tried doing googling the problem but everything I found dealt with problems with pics printing too dark. I send all my pictures out to be printed at a lab, so that's not the problem. The problem is that the exported JPGs are too dark.

My monitor isn't calibrated but I would think that the picture would look the same regardless. There was something when I set LR up about Pro(something) color profile but I chnged it to sRGB so that all my stuff would match (presumably). Any ideas to fix this or am I going to have to lighten them more to compenste (which I've been doing in the meantime)? Did I miss something? Keep in mind that I'm new to PP so I don't yet know everything about the settings :x

Sounds like a color profile issue to me.

So are you saying that the profile displaying the picture in LR isn't the same as the one displaying my picture in Windows Picture Viewer? I thought that the monitor would display the same picture regardless as long as the profiles used were the same for both. Please excuse my ignorance; color profiles (and much about PP) still elude my understanding. Is there something specific I should look into (or read about)?

This is still a little bit of a mystery to me as well. I'm not sure I would trust Windows picture viewer (or anything from MS) but I don't know if that's the problem. Double check which color space Lightroom is using (or what your files are importing with)...just to be sure. It might be set to Adobe RGB...which is different from sRGB.