Fall Fair Entries

rub

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Here area few photos I enered in the local fall fair. I have never entered any type of competition before, but I have started a small photography business.

WhenI dropped off the photos, I was completely belittled. The organizer made me feel like crap, and said that maybeI shoudl join the local camera club as there are lots of "complete novices" like me, as well as experienced people I could learn from.

It was a blow, for sure. Especially as I had a wedding to shoot the next day.

Are these photos that bad? They were mostly shot about a year ago (and I have progressed quite a bit over the last year). But I did think that they were okay. I wouldnt have entered them if I didnt.

Are these far below "fall fair" quality entries?

C&C is very much appreicated. Please let me know what you think.

1) Category - Shuswap (the area I live in) - Easy Livin'
6048_118589391182_551601182_3539701_4862496_n.jpg

2) Category - People - Cowboys
5248_133820216182_551601182_3813524_5520486_n.jpg

3) Category - Nature - Afternoon Tulips
n551601182_3082768_3157183.jpg

4) Category - Open - Funky Llama
n551601182_1995249_7050.jpg

5) Category - People - Silly Willy
n551601182_1950034_1236.jpg

The organizer of the fall fair is an idiot, regardless of the quality of your photos. I like 2, 3, and 5. I'd be happy if I took any of these.

Are these far below "fall fair" quality entries?

That would depend entirely on the overall quality of the entries to your fair. Some fairs attract better entries than others. I have an aunt who couldn't paint worth a darn but she sometimes got ribbons :lol:

Overall, the exposures are good but to me that's about it.

#1 I don't even understand why you would enter it. It sure doesn't tell me a thing about where you live and it's not interesting anyway. What is the image about?