Film grain, or Walmart?

Yeah they do

Well, I didn't think they did, but I guess if you know they do, you got it. However, I process my film at a dedicated photo center and they scan way better than Walmart. They do adjusting as well (by professional designers), but whenever I process film with them, I indicate on the order form to not adjust any pictures and to develop all frames.

I have the eveidence if you would like me to post it, just say the word.

That's alright, I believe you :D

I would like to know what it is they are doing, or not doing...but is still happening via automation.

It's Walmart! I took some film to Walmart years ago and I got the same results: Grain and rough paper! Go to a pharmacy like CVS or Walgreens. You'll see the difference.

I work in a lab, and I can vouch for the corrections. Everything is set to run on auto-correct, and then we manually adjust color as need be. We eyeball it, getting it as close as we can to what we think it should be. Our members can ask us to turn off the auto correct and do no manual corrections, and some times you can really see a difference.

It's Walmart! I took some film to Walmart years ago and I got the same results: Grain and rough paper! Go to a pharmacy like CVS or Walgreens. You'll see the difference.

Walgreens? I have a whole box of photo CDs from Walgreens that are almost as garbage as what I posted.

There was a great shot every now and then...but now I realize that is only because the exposure happened to "match" what the machine must have wanted, not allowing the opportunity to screw it up.

And that doesn't even touch on how much dust is on all those images.