First moon photo

PaulWog

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
This is my first attempt at a moon photo. Managed to get it at ISO 320, 1/200 of a second, and f11. I couldn't figure out how to get a quiet shutter to reduce camera shake (beyond doing a self-timer on the tripod), but I think on my next moon shot I will be doing 1/400 to ensure sharpness is as best as possible.

Cropped into about 1/12th of the frame or thereabouts for the final image. I think if I got the moon when it's closer, I could get something really nice.

If you have any suggestions for editing or capturing the moon, let me know! :)

The Moon Flickr - Photo Sharing
19039081612_e013e48c15_o.jpg

Nicely done! As for the Crop, I think it's fine. Maybe take some of the empty void off the right side, but it works fine as is.

Nice shot. I agree some cropping is in order.

For all intents and purposes when doing photography of the Moon with a DSLR, the Moon is at infinity since the point of focus is 250,000 or so miles away. When the Moon is at perigee to Earth it's still a long way away and how turbulent Earth's atmosphere is at the time a photo of the Moon is made has a lot to do with how sharp a photo can be produced.
Inconstant Moon The Moon at Perigee and Apogee

Consequently a small lens aperture like f/11 is not needed to have a deep depth of field.
Online Depth of Field Calculator

You could have gotten to 1/400 by opening up the lens aperture 1 stop to f/8.

Using a 1200 mm focal length lens, or telescope, and a extremely fast aperture of f/1, the near limit of the DoF would be about 16.5 miles in front of the camera (still well inside Earth's atmosphere) and the far limit would be infinity - way, way, WAY beyond the Moon.