Foggy photos

nana3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a Nikon D5100 and even though I have had this camera for sometime now, I still don't know anything about it. I read other's thread and hear aperture and shutter speed etc. I am still learning. I do have a question. When I have the camera in my house and go outside to take a photo, the lens fogs up and then my photo is also foggy. Is there a way to prevent this? It usually happens from cold to warm area.

Attachments

• yellow trumpet tree.jpg
    yellow trumpet tree.jpg
    68.7 KB · Views: 130
  • yellow trumpet tree 2.jpg
    yellow trumpet tree 2.jpg
    118.4 KB · Views: 124
This happens with glasses too.
Is there a way to prevent it? Keep your camera outside at all times ?
No, not really. you'll have to give your camera time to adjust to the quick changes in temp/humidity.

As stated above no real way to prevent this, only way is to deal with it.
I always keep a lens cloth with me because while the lens is fogged it can pick up fine dust and debris. Waiting for the lens to clear then gently blowing (with a bulb) or removing with a cloth any debris is about all you can do.

you could try hitting your lens with a hairdryer before going outside to warm it up quickly.

I've been affected by this too running outside to take a quick pic of aircraft only to find out my lens fogged up. I might try the hairdryer next time I know of it possibly occurring.

edit: not actually hitting your lens, but using a hot setting to warm up the lens. As the outside elements are cool, and going outside to a hot/humid environment they are affected. I don't know how the internal elements are affected though. Your mirror is probably affected too, prism, sensor. I checked over my camera last time it happened .. it wasn't just the lens.

Thank you so much everyone.