General touch up question

mindzipper

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've got some photos that need to be edited and I'm not really sure where to start.

i'm a graphic designer and do video as well (motion graphics) but i don't know the firs tthing about photo retouch.

I have a few pictures I'd like to edit. this is a personal project, not a client, but i want to provide quality work like i do with the other areas.

The photos were taken with a high quality camera, and done by a pro, but of course they're unedited and need general things like light correction, color balancing, softening, remove imperfections and smooth the skin.

I can do some little things that I take from the graphic design side. I masked out the target, and blurred the background slightly to add some depth to the pic which worked well. but when i put the images in the website, they just look raw. hard to explain. but i've got high resolution high quality graphics i'm using for a very large bg pic. up until now I just used a black sillouhette since i dind't have the photos. but now that they're in i put them in the picture and they look stark, and raw.

What should I be looking for? i assume I'll just watch some tutorials on photo retouching but thought maybe i could get some good direction from this forum since it appears to be stuffed full of pros.

Where would you start if you were me?

If they were 'done by a pro', why didn't 'the pro' do the work?

no idea. but i do know that having photos taken by a pro photographer doesn't necessarily mean the retouch work will be done by them too. I don't know what the reason is, but i don't think the question is very relevant to what i was looking for. i'm not getting paid for any of the work, i just wanted to help