Getting into Picture Editing, and Looking for Good Quality Camera

SAPierce2006

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys. I'm just getting into picture editing, and photoshop, and I've been really enjoying it. Taking pictures is something I've always enjoyed doing, and I always run into situations where I wish I had a camera, so this summer I figured I'd aim to buy one. I'm on a college student budget, and I'm probably going to be aiming to find something on craigs list in the next 2 to 3 months.

This is what I'm looking for:
1. Something small. I want to be able to carry it around with me 24/7. I always have a small messanger bag I have with me, and Ideally it would fit in there without causing too much of a bulge. However, I'm not willing to sacrifice quality for size, but at the same time, I'm absolutely not looking for one of these monstrosities with detachable lenses that actual photogrophers use(surely you know what I'm talking about?). I wouldn't be able to carry that around with me all the time.
2. I'm looking for something that is fairly decent quality, since I do plan on editing some of the photos, so I'm looking for something that spits out pretty high res photos.
3. I want something that doesn't pause for long periods of time before taking a picture. Too many times pictures are lost waiting. :-(

How much am I looking at spending? Ideally I'd like to spend $200-300 on a used camera or new camera (the less the better). I figured I'd find out what I'm looking for now, so I can start scanning craigslist for someone with the camera I want in good condition.

If someone has a guide or something that I can read on what I should look for in buying a camera, that'd be cool too. I used to know what f-stop and other things were, but I don't know any of that now, so any good readups would be welcomed. Thanks!

Last edited:
Fuji F200 EXR

Why do you choose that specific camera?