Getting Started

Origin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
:hail:

I took a photography course and had a little exposure to dark room techniques, etc... I'm now graduating college and would like to pick up the hobby again. I'm completely out of the loop and really have no idea where a good starting point would be in terms of equipment, dark room setup & the impact of digital photography.

For anyone who feels so inclined, I would really appreciate some basic information. First of all, what is the best camera to begin with. Second, how do most amateurs develop their photos - any tips on dark room set up. Has there been a shift to the digital side of things & if so, what recommendations can you make as to equipment & getting started.

Also, is anyone working in journalism in any capacity? My degree is in a non-related field, but I'm interested in trying to break into this a bit. I don't want to quit my "day job" at this time, but I'd like to combine photography with my writing skills & submit articles to magazines, etc...

If any of this fits anyone, I'd really appreciate a little dialogue. Thanks so much!

Regarding journalism.
In the UK we have the Artist and Writers Yearbook that details every publication in the world, the sort of articles and pictures they prefer, their rates, etc.
There is an equivalent for the US.
You write stuff on spec and send it on the rounds.
There are so many publications that they are desperate for half-way decent articles. All it takes is perseverence.

Your first question: Define 'best' as applied to a camera. What do you intend doing with it and what is your budget. (This question is like asking 'where should I live?') And do a thread search on this site - this is a FAQ.
Second: You can either process them yourself or get a lab to do it. The split is about 50/50 for B&W. Colour - use a lab.

If you intend to use your pictures as part of your pursuit of journalism then go digital.