Golden Crocodile

polymoog

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.polymoog.se
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Taken at Shark Reef @ Mandalay Bay, Las Vegas. Shot through plexiglass ...

lv005.jpg

EXIF :

Pentax *ist DL + Sigma 17-70

1/30 sec
F 9
ISO 800
Focal Length 58mm
UV Filter

PS : Shadows/Highlights, Noise Reduction (Noiseware Professional), Sharpen

Yes I know .... I tried to get rid of as much of that as I could without changing the colours too much. I guess the plexiglass didn't help, I am not too experienced with taking photos through glass/plexi/plastic :)

for the foggy effect try running levels over the shot - use the auto settings and then try setting the layer to a luminosity one only - that should remove the haze without changing the colours.
As for levels try reading this site for some more info: Levels -- Part I

A good shot - I like it, the water is crystal clear!

Cool, thanks for the advice Overread :)

Here's the original pic :

croc1.jpg

And here it is with auto levels applied to a new layer with luminosity as the setting :

croc2.jpg

I think the colours came out radically different, but on the other hand, that might be what was needed. I rarely used Levels because there is so much that can be done and I never seem to have the time/patience needed to understand what can be done.
doh.gif

I would really try to learn levels - even though I don't know much myself it does seem to be a very powerful editing tool and - used right - can really help make a shot get that added factor!
Also try layermasking and removing (either with a 100% brush or you can work with softer brushes for a less harsh effect) the level effect on white areas - I find that levels can sometimes make some areas appear more blown then in the original - masking over hides it up a bit :)

Neat shot.