Gray Card for Exposure Help

When I first started using Tri-X 400 film developed with HC110, I studied and started using the zone system as part of my photography journey. When I moved to digital and began understanding the capabilities of my cameras and PP software, the zone system became moot as I now set exposure using the histograms displayed in the camera (or pay attention to the blinkies) and can adjust the tone reproduction curve(s) in post. I usually take a picture of a gray scale on shoots mainly to set white point in Post, but the days of assigning a part of a scene to a specific zone are over for me. As long as the DR of the scene is less than or equal to my camera's DR I am good to go. If the DR of the scene exceeds my camera's ability, then I choose to either bury the shadows or blow out the highlights, but I still have the ability to adjust the tone curves in Post.

Exposure calibration is not the same as White Balance and there seems to be some confusion in this thread mixing the two.

FWIW, a known standard is important if you trying to achieve the precise exposure based on a calibration point. Incident and reflected meters are calibrated at 18%, thus the reason Kodak and Sekonic grey cards are also 18%.

Whether the photographer chooses to set the exposure from an 18% grey card is totally subjective.

Exposure calibration is not the same as White Balance and there seems to be some confusion in this thread mixing the two.

FWIW, a known standard is important if you trying to achieve the precise exposure based on a calibration point. Incident and reflected meters are calibrated at 18%, thus the reason Kodak and Sekonic grey cards are also 18%.

Whether the photographer chooses to set the exposure from an 18% grey card is totally subjective.