[Help] How to Focus On Subject & Blur Background?

hikkifan17

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I am new to the world of "Photography"and I was wondering, how do I focus on a subject but have the background blurred? I presume this question has been asked once or twice.

I have a "Fujifilm Finepix S4200", I tried to follow some instructions on how-to site but having trouble still. Could anyone be willing to share a step by step tutorial of some kind? If so that would be great. Thanks.

I'm not familiar with your camera but you want to use a wide open aperture aka small aperture number.

It's about much more than just the lens aperture. Point of focus distance, focal length, and how far from the subject the background is all factor into what you are wanting to do.

What you are wanting to do is known as 'selective focus' or a shallow depth-of-field. This tutorial includes a DoF calculator - Understanding Depth of Field in Photography

set to A, Apperture Priority AE then put it the number low F3.1 to get the blur background.
The bigger the number F then the background will become more clear.

Cheers

Thanks for the tips, I will look into it. More tips welcome ;D

To increase the effect of the blurred background, you may want to ..

- Choose a wider aperture that is smaller the f number.
- Choose a longer focal length. The longer the better.
- Decrease the subject to camera distance. The shorter the better.
- Increase the subject to background distance. The longer the better.

For various reasons you could imagine reading the suggested article, compact cameras give much less blurring than dSLR, unless on extreme conditions (e.g., subject extremely close and background proportionally far, like in macros). So, be prepared to get frustrated: it's not as easy as you wish.