How Do I do that

chrisburke

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.chrisburke.ca
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey, I'm new to photogrpahy, love it, bought a d40 a few weeks back, have gotten some GREAT tips from a photojournalist friend of mine and I think i'm learning quickly.

Oh you can check out some of my pics here:
http://idiotsphotoblog.blogspot.com/

If you guys could have a look and make some suggestions to me, that would be killer.

What I'm wondering: I've been browsing through some different photos on the web that people have taken, and seen some really cool stuff. One particular thing that I saw that I've been wondering about is a picture I saw, unfortunatley I can't find it anymore so I can't show you. Anyways, The pic was of a guy, and it was grayscaled, but the face of the guy was colored. How do I go about doing that??? Any ideas?

I checked out your images. Always check the viewfinder carefully. In the shot "Stuck In A Hole" the thing behind the young lady seems to be resting on her head. If you had her move slightly or you changed your position, it would not be there. A camera,unlike our eyes,does not record depth. With your eyes, you saw the object in the distance. This is not so for a camera lens. We have a sense of depth because of our 2 eyes. If you view scenes with one eye closed you will get a better idea of how a lens see things when it comes to depth. As a photographer you need to create a sense of depth in your shots.
Now about your gray scale question. Most editing software can do this. You achieve it by selecting the area you want to remove the color from.

thanks for that advice, your right i didnt even notice it when taking the picture, and to be honest, didn't even notice it until you pointed it out, but thank you very much!!!

I'm not sure I understand how to only select certain parts of the picture to change coloring. I use Photoshop cs1 on a mac. I've goofed around with a picture, but don't think i'm doing it right.