How limiting really is the D40?

gamerz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

So, I'm still undecided on what DSLR to purchase... Its between the Nikon D40, the Canon XTi, and the Nikon D80. What I really want to know is how limiting is the D40 really?

1.I know it doesn't have an in body auto focus motor, but is that really a problem? I know alot of companies now are making the bulk of their lenses so that they are AF-S, or so I have heard.

2. How limiting is the D40 in terms of features and technology? If I were to buy it, how long would it be before I would want to replace it because it lacks some features and settings that I would otherwise need? (I dont actually know what I do need, I am still a noob)

3. How is the picture quality coming from the D40? What I'm really looking for is a camera to take DSLR type pictures, not pictures like a high end point and shoot.

Thanks.

I'm a new D40 owner, and I'm very happy with it!

However, I will comment on the lens limitations.

As of right now, it IS a serious limitation. The first lens people recommend you to buy is the 50mm prime because it is very fast, very cheap, and very good! However, there is NO 50mm prime that will autofocus on the D40. That made me sad.

Sigma recently anounced (March 18) that is has a new 50mm lens coming out, and it WILL autofocus on the D40. However, they haven't released price info. It might be $250 or more, compared to the $100 excellent Nikon prime.

So ... take that how you will. Maybe the lens limitations will force you to wait, and not splurge immediately. That way you'll still be able to put food on the table ..

If you are even thinking about the D80, get it. :)

With regards to #1: If you look at it as an opportunity to be less dependent on automatic systems, the lack of AF is not a limitation; it is a learning tool. Not being facetious, but what better way to become more familiar with your camera?