How to photograph a paperweight (curved reflective surface) with no glare using strobe lights?

MrsNesbitt

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all -

I am a self-taught photographer in the auction inudstry and I have spent hours experimenting with photographing paperweights to achieve a result that does not reflect the strobe light.

I am at something of a loss because even photographs taken from the side or even somewhat from behind reflect due to the highly curved surface of the paperweight.

The first photo is what I have been able to achieve, the second photo is what I would like to achieve (no reflection of the strobe)

Do you think that putting the weights in a light box, putting my Canon DSLR at a high ISO and pointing the strobes up/away from the paperweights in a small room is the answer? I have not tried this because the room I shoot in is large and there are reflective objects.

Thoughts are welcome and appreciated!! This is driving me a little bit crazy.
223-1.jpg
Screenshot 2024-02-01 093259.png

*Photographs taken where the strobe is to the side or slightly behind*

Hi all -

I am a self-taught photographer in the auction inudstry and I have spent hours experimenting with photographing paperweights to achieve a result that does not reflect the strobe light.

I am at something of a loss because even photographs taken from the side or even somewhat from behind reflect due to the highly curved surface of the paperweight.

The first photo is what I have been able to achieve, the second photo is what I would like to achieve (no reflection of the strobe)

Do you think that putting the weights in a light box, putting my Canon DSLR at a high ISO and pointing the strobes up/away from the paperweights in a small room is the answer? I have not tried this because the room I shoot in is large and there are reflective objects.