Is Canon really that much better?

forzaF1

Ultimate Ferrari Tifosi
Reaction score
Website
johnburrowphotography.fotki.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was just looking around B&H, Adorama, Amazon, etc. and so many of the reviews for Canon equipment, that claim to be written by former Nikon users, say that Canon is far superior. In a review for the 1ds Mark II :)drool:), some guy wrote
"I have been shooting pro for 12 yrs and I recently switched to
digital. I have had to work with both Nikon and Canon
equipment and I can safely say that Canon is and always will
be superior to Nikon."

I have also noticed that almost all the pro photographers (at sporting events, etc.) always use Canon.

As a Nikon user for years, I am in so position to make a quick switch, but I was just curious. What do you guys think?

Thanks a lot,

John

"Is Canon really that much better?"

quick answer...

no.

:D

it greatly depends on what you're using it for...i wouldn't switch based on user reviews, since each person will like each camera for different reasons. if you're seeing limitations in your own kit that owning a certain canon would solve, then get a canon. if not, stick with nikon. just my opinion :)

In the 1990's, Alot of Nikon sports shooters switched to Canon because the EOS AF system was remarkably faster than that of Nikon's internal motors in the body. That's why almost every sports shooter that has been working since the 90's shoots Canon. Nowadays there are more Nikon sports shooters, but it's still almost entirely Canon on the sidelines.

As far as which is superior now? Neither in my opinion. I'd rather shoot with my D70 than a 1D because I do not like the control scheme of Canon SLR's. Nikon's make more sense to me. It's that simple.

If you think switching will improve your photography, all power to you. Otherwise, it sounds like you're switching based on a few people's opinions, which is not why you spend thousands of dollars to switch systems.