Jumping into Video...

Discussion in 'The Aspiring Professionals Forum' started by Antithesis, Oct 9, 2013.

1. Antithesis

Antithesis No longer a newbie, moving up!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hey Everyone, I am curious how many people have made the leap from still photography to shooting a bit of video?

Right now, I am in my first year as a full time wedding photographer, and already have a good number of weddings on the books in 2014 and even 2015. My location combined with my background (8 years shooting, 7 years as a full time editor) gives me a pretty significant advantage... but I also keep getting asked about video services in addition to photography. I have the opportunity to expand that direction if I choose, and there would literally be little to no local competition for work. I have some experience editing video in FCP, I know a good amount about video/sound in general, but I wouldn't know where to start on covering an actual event. I would mainly be shooting to fill in gaps in my schedule where I am not shooting stills to keep money coming in, and would probably start picking up additional shooters to help get coverage over the long term.

Basically, where do you start learning? Recommended forums/blogs/etc.? Is this a bad idea without having a chance to shadow a pro?

2. Nakibk

Nakibk TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit