Lauren + Rick... my first wedding post on TPF

jamesbjenkins

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.ballengerphotos.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all, I've been an active member here for a bit, but this is my first time posting wedding shots here. This was my third wedding ever, and the first with my new D700. I'd love some feedback! I was really pleased with several of them. I'm beginning to figure out my signature look. Enjoy...

7. One of my favorites! The groom's parents are on the right, the bride's on the left...

10. They love these high contrast, sharp b&w's. This is another favorite...

15. Special request of the bride. Terrible lighting forced ISO 3200... :(

I tried to show some diversity with my selections. I'd love to hear what you think! Thanks.

ditto on the watermark.

Here are some of my thoughts. I think you really need to be consistent with your processing. It is all over the place. Different tints of B&W, different processing for color. A few are processed too much almost like faux HDR. You also need to work on your flash bouncing skill. If I am not mistaken, a lot of this are shot with bounced flash + stoffen. Telling you... loose the stoffen. Learn to bounce without one. You will yield much better result without one. Perhaps you didnt show enough of the formal ones but I dont see full body shots. I am very critical when it comes to wedding photography though :).

Thanks for the opinion Schwetty! I do use the stoffen with the hot shoe flash, but I'm considering several options. How would you suggest I bounce without one to get appropriate fill? It's been my experience that a naked hot shoe flash always gives a lot of specular nasties and hot points.