Lens Suggestion, 24-105 f/4L IS vs. 24-70 f/2.8L to Compliment 70-200 f/2.8?

MattHira

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,
I've read many comparisons for the two lenses but I wanted to see what everyone thought. I'm an independent filmmaker but also love wildlife and general photography for vacations. I love the 70-200 f/2.8L lens, but it's quite cumbersome as a "walk around" lens, and for some vacations shots/film shots, 70mm is just too close. I'd like a really nice lens to fill the gap under 70 and it is between the 24-105 f/4L or the 24-70 f/2.8L. Here's what I've thought are the pros of each:
24-105:
-Can get for about $750
-Image Stabilization (for video especially)
-Little more reach

24-70:
-Faster
-Smaller
-Lighter

What would you do? This is all on a 60D and battery grip which I'm considering replacing with a 6D or used 5DII. I'd like any feedback on that as well. And in the long run I think I'd like to close the "bottom" with a 14mm Rectilinear. But when considering price difference, videography, and personal experience, I'm interested to know what everyone thinks in that context, because all the other discussions on this lens are general. Is the faster lens worth the IS sacrifice and less reach?
Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
Matt

I agree with ronlane, plus if you already have the 70-200mm f/2.8 it will compliment it well and your total range with the two lenses are better than that one lens. You also have to consider if you want more versatility in one lens vs. better speeds with two different lenses. (the battle is between casual shooting and serious shooting, in my opinion)

Though if for videos I must say that it would make more sense to stick to the other lens for the IS. I'd personally go for the f/2.8 though.

you'll always wish you went with the faster lens if you get the f4.... you'll never wish you had a slower lens.

Last edited:

Last edited:

Last edited: