BuS_RiDeR

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
mdlphotography.blogspot.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a long time PC user...

I can not afford to buy a Mac at the moment...

I am frustrated with Microsoft and Windows and its unstable behavior, viruses, and spyware....

I'd like to switch to Linux. I am a Gimp user.

However, I can't seem to find a decent "basic" editor... Like Adobe Lightroom or Canon's Digital Photo Professional, Where I can work on multiple RAW files at once.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Have you considered figuring out what the problem is with your windows setup and habits? I've been using windows based systems for 20 years and haven't had many issues.

Most instability problems are from either hardware or driver issues. As for viruses and spyware, get bitdefender and use firefox. That and don't visit questionable sites clicking on things. Bitdefender also helps with that.

If you want to post your system setup and the issues you are having maybe we can help you sort it out.

As an avid multi-OS user, could we hear the sepcific problems you're having with windows before you think about swapping to linux. Linux itself has loads of problems in and of itself; no dual monitor support with certain graphics cards, no 64bit flash support, not a lot of software, etc.

Viruses, malware, and instability are TYPICALLY user-end problems that can be fixed behaviorally. Or by locking yourself down to using a non-administrator account.

Have you considered figuring out what the problem is with your windows setup and habits?

Yes I have... And I know that the problen is Windows and poorly written software.

I am a computer technician and have been using computers since before Windows has existed....

The computer works for me.. not the other way around. :)

Ok, won't get myself involved in the Linux/Windows/OSX debate that is bound to erupt, but I'll just try to stay within the scope of the original question.