Looking for a pocketable point&shoot camera with advancements, low budget

midix

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all.

Currently I'm using a camera of my Nokia Lumia 920 to shoot pictures and videos. It is OK for mundane tasks, but it fails when I want to shoot some far-away objects or a video in tricky light conditions, which would require to adjust ISO, white balance and what not. My phone does not provide advanced controls when shooting videos and I really miss optical zoom.

While I'm not a professional photographer, still I like to fiddle with some effects in photo editing software, therefore it would be great to have RAW format support, so I have pure pixels which I can tweak as I desire.

Essentially, I'd like to find a camera which would outperform my phone camera in every aspect, plus have more features. My wishlist follows:

- budget is 250 .. 350 EUR (this would be about 220 .. 300 USD, considering that we in Europe have that 21% VAT thing)

- camera should fit in a pocket, but it can be a large pocket. I'm not against system cameras, as long as they are not huge. I don't want to pay for compactness if I can have a better system camera for the same price.

- intended use - mostly point&shoot in automatic mode, but sometimes I'll need manual tweaking.

- decent quality pictures. I mean, the best quality I can get for the budget.

- zoom. Maybe not 30x, but something stable and reliable.

- macro mode. I'm a hardware guy, I want to snap some shots of electronic parts, PCBs and what not.

- good quality video with control options. I've heard that some cameras add video capabilities as a bonus without any afterthought. But for me it is important to have at least basic controls - manual ISO, white balance, stabilization.