Looking for Suggestions

bcarlson87

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello!

I just joined this today and haven't spent a ton of time reading other posts yet...so sorry if this is a common questions.

However... I am looking to purchase a new camera and have no idea what to get. I had my eye on the Nikon d5100 but i'm not sure it's the correct one.

I have been propositioned to take the pictures for a good friends wedding, but I know my current camera isn't right. But my current photos are what caught their eye to wanting me to take their pictures. I have also been asked by a few others to take various pictures. I enjoy taking action pictures (sports) and well as outdoor/nature pictures...on top of recent request for taking wedding/baby/engagement photos.

So I am looking for an all around good camera, that is not horribly expensive-- this is a hobby, not a profession. I am fairly new to this.

Is the Nikon d5100 to basic?
Any suggestions on different cameras/lens that would be better?

Any suggestions would be much appreciated. I'm looking to buy the camera within the next month or two.

Thank you so much!!

There are several posts a day on this topic and my answer is always the same. Get the cheapest DSLR of the brand you like (D3100 in this case), master it, and upgrade when your images demand it. Be satisfied with a cheap "kit" lens. For more advice, see my blog posts Joel Nisleit Photography | How to Buy a New Camera Body, Or the Best Camera for Beginners and Joel Nisleit Photography | What Lens Should You Buy?. I suggest that you'll be happier if you invest in learning and understanding photography vs. investing in equipment. The entry DSLRs now are better than what I started with.

Welcome. If you search for Weddings on this site you will find a LOT of information. I'm a Canon person, so I will let others talk about that.

Just a warning, shooting weddings is a HOT topic on this site. Good luck.