Looking to Take Pics for Online Business Site

jsyang15

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
im a total beginner at this and i was using the search function to look for the best possible setup...but my question seems to be a lil too specific...the scenario is that i went to a camera place yesterday and the salesman there was pushing that i spend like $5000 on a full lighting system with flash, fillers, and etc...but i feel for an online shoe site, that is quite excessive...would continuous lighting be enough? the only thing my company has purchased is a canon eos20d...i figure a new lense is going to be obvious for detailed pics to upload online...but is all that lighting eqipment necessary or would a simple continuous lighting setup be suffice? any help or recommendations would be great...

The main advantage to strobes is that you don't have this hot light shining in the model's face all the time. For still-life, many people prefer continuous lighting. You'll still probably want reflectors, but you can use foam core for that, and diffusers, like umbrellas.

A light tent or a couple of soft boxes should do it fine. You don't need to spend $5,000 dollars on a portrait studio setup as it wouldn't really be the right thing and it will be a faff to set up and take down.

A soft box is essentially a light with a light paper or plastic frame which produces an even white light. A light tent is a tent, made of light white fabric which produces an even more balanced light.

You'll be wanting a tripod, as the camera should be shooting at it's lowest ISO for the sharpest shot, and a decent depth of field, probably f8+ which is going to make hand-holding with artificial constant lighting near impossible.

This is a $80 soft box: http://www.webphotosupply.com/425691.jpg

This is a $20 light tent: http://www.firstwayinsurance.com/auction/12x24-animated-tent.gif