Manual practice.. CC please

Holly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I dont see the Critique Gallery, and notice more people will see it here... I hope its ok to post it here..

OK ALL The CC you can dish out would be appreciated.. Im learning my manual mode on the Nikon.. Now this is a child who does NOT sit still for the life of me.. F - 5.6 or so SS 100 and ISO is 200... The darker one is my original.. SO I did some PSing to UMPH It up a bit..
I also used 2 different levels to see the difference.. Plus on the forum my pictures look a little darker them my PS for some reason...

HERE are my layouts

UNedited -

mm1.jpg

2- Sharpened, and added levels

mm.jpg

3- Played with levels a bit more

mm2.jpg

MY Question is why cant I get a PIcture like 3 with out having to edit it etc.??

I'm no expert so someone please correct me if I'm wrong but it looks like your lens is soft on focus and you might have needed to force a flash or added a soft source of light hitting him from the front.

Also, when shooting something in motion most people bump up the ISO some however you risk more grain that way. Again, I'm no expert so I hope someone comes back and corrects me if necessary.

You need some fill flash, or a reflector for this image, and a warmer white balance. The skin is very cold.

Also, just a note on sharpening. These are way oversharpened, and no amount of sharpening can make something sharp that is not in sharp focus to begin with. Are you using auto focus, or manually focusing?

Thanks you two..

Matt this was auto Focus... I Did try reflector and he didnt sit still long enough to keep it in place for a period of time.. IF I used flash it self would it take away the catch lights in his eyes? SO there is no dot ?