Max shutter speed reduces when flash turned on

k.udhay

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I am a beginner in using a DSLR. I just bought a Nikon D3200 few days back. Naturally, i was trying to take photos with manual mode. I wanted to shoot a water stream in the intention of freezing it. I just dialed my shutter to 1/4000. Since I shot this inside my home, I preferred to set flash on. Once i turned the flash on, the shutter speed went to 1/200 by its own. Why does this happen this way? With a low shutter speed I am unable to freeze the bubbles. On the other hand, with high shutter speed, flash off and widest possible aperture, I get a very dark image that is of no use. As I tried high ISO, like you have guessed now, I get grains. What do you suggest? Thanks.

Your popup flash does not support "High Speed Sync", just like all popup flashes. Mine limits my camera to 1/160th.

You'll need a dedicated flash that can support that function to take faster pictures.

Technically speaking, at 1/200th and slower your flash will fire while the whole sensor is exposed, for the brief moment after the first shutter is fully open and before the second starts to close.

At higher speed, the second shutter starts closing before the first is done opening. So they basically travel together, exposing a slit of light only. The high speed sync feature of the flash will strobe the flash to expose the slit at the proper interval so it covers the sensor evenly. Not leaving any area under or over exposed.

Sooooo, to use the flash to freeze the water, shut your aperture so that at 1/200 and the aperture chosen there is not much ambient light.
Then use the flash.

Sooooo, to use the flash to freeze the water, shut your aperture so that at 1/200 and the aperture chosen there is not much ambient light.
Then use the flash.