Munsinger Gardens

timberwolf5480

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Looking for some critiques for my photos. I am a beginning photographer, I know about the rule of thirds, but I am still learning. Anyways, these pics were taken with a point and shoot camera, I am waiting to get a DSLR in November. Thanks!

IMG_0679.jpg

IMG_0692.jpg

IMG_0697.jpg

IMG_0703.jpg

IMG_0724.jpg

IMG_0738.jpg

IMG_0749.jpg

IMG_0774.jpg

I can tell these were taken with a point and shoot camera, they definitely look like snapshots. (Of course I'm right there with you stuck with the p&s and waiting for the dslr, haha) But, even with a point and shoot you really need to make sure that what you are shooting is a) in focus, and b) just I suppose pleasing to look at.

*WARNING! Super long post ahead :) *

#1 Isnt a bad picture! I think its one of the better of these. Its pretty much in focus, although the colors seem to be a bit dull. If I were you I would get some photo editing software (if you are looking for little to no money spent, I would try Gimp. Its pretty easy to use after you play around a bit) and see if you can play with the contrast and saturation a bit to make those colors more vibrant. Do that, and I think it would be a much better picture.

#2 Again not a bad picture, but not great. The colors of the flowers are very nice, although the person in the orange shirt behind the fountain is a bit distracting and not a good thing to have in that sort of picture. And although the flowers have good color I feel like the rest is really lacking. Oh and, your sidewalk is off center. I realize that the rule of thirds can call for things to be off center, but I dont believe this is off center enough to apply to that rule. It just looks sort of like it was a mistake that it wasnt center.