My little rant

ShutterbugSarah

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a noob on here so I shouldn't probably be posting this but its something that thoroughly upsets me.

Camera snobs...
The ones with pro level cameras that completely trash talk entry level photographers. Acting like the persons $800 set up is childs play and can't be tolerated.

To me I believe its not the camera that makes the pictures, it's the photographer. I've been shooting with a bridge camera and I believe I can keep up with my friend with a T1i just because I know my camera inside and out. I don't need to spend thousands of dollars to have the perfect set up to be pleased with my pictures. Granted i'll have a D5100 in hand within the next 2 weeks. It's something that will help me achieve more with higher resolution...lol

Ending rant, I wonder if anyone will be paying attention to this.

It really depends on the context.

"Great photos" is such a highly subjective term that its almost impossible to discuss anything without first setting a benchmark for what it is one wants to create and achieve. Once that is on the table then, yes, people can debate the right tools for a situation. You'll find some just cut mustard, some fail utterly and some are close to the line, but not quite there.

A lot of people like the romantic idea that "its all the photographer not the camera" and to some extent it is a true statement to make. But so often people say it without thinking (or think it without pausing to consider what they are thinking). It works within limits as a statement, but can't be a coverall for any situation (if it were then professionals would not invest £1000s in their gear).