Need help picking out a camera.

brittdogg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello- I'm looking into buying my first DSLR. I have been looking, researching and comparing the Nikon D3100, D3200 and D5100. What I am really looking for in whatever camera I get, is good image quality. If possible making it look as pro as possible at a cheaper price. (I know the different lens help also). Can you please tell me which one I should get and why. *I do not take many videos so those features dont really matter* I would like to get "the biggest bang for my buck" thanks :)

I am a newer photographer.. I took at class at school this year and enjoyed it. I would like to make photography a fun hobby.

You already picked the cameras I would have suggested to you. However, there are also the entry level Canons (see below).

Get one of these with the 18-105mm kit lens, or body only (and get something like a higher quality zoom or the 35mm prime as walkaround lens)

Not the 18-55mm kit lens, because (a) it has a really bad manual focus (and manual focus is already hard enough with these cameras) (b) in many situations, it just doesnt have the range one would want.

If you want maximum quality for a cheap price, a prime lens (like the AF-S 35mm f/1.8G DX, as I use it) is the way to go. Zoom lenses havent been invented before the 1950s and havent been in common useage before the 1970s. People have been photographing long before that point. Just zoom with your feet instead of with the lens. About 30mm on DX (and 45mm on full frame) is the "normal" focal length, which is about as wide as our eyes. Thats why this is the most general focal length.

You might also want later to get (depending upon what you want to do):