need suggestions

sxyrhoose

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm not sure if I'm posting this on the right forum or not. I am a newbie to this place.

I just started shooting events and portraits. I bought a Dell laptop to work with the photos. I just heard/realized that no one edits on laptops as their coloring is off from a regular monitor. :grumpy:

Now, I plan on buying a monitor to hook on my laptop when I edit these photos. Are mac monitors capatible with dell laptops and if so which would you recommend? If not, I'll be getting a dell monitor, and was wondering which one would be the best going that route?

Thanks so much for your insight
Eydie

Your MAC monitor should have a VGA input and your laptop probably has VGA output, so yeah, it should work.

Yes, he is true. Thanks for suggest us...

For those that have claimed laptops are off for color, this isn't always the case. I've checked mine against the calibration of several macs in the campus fine arts lab and my laptop is about the same. Based on proofing or just comparing the screen, there isn't a noticeable difference.

For those that have claimed laptops are off for color, this isn't always the case. I've checked mine against the calibration of several macs in the campus fine arts lab and my laptop is about the same. Based on proofing or just comparing the screen, there isn't a noticeable difference.
The problem with laptops is the screen doesn't allow a lot of latitude for viewing angle. They are usually also very limited as far as calibration adjustments that can be made to them, like gamma.

Move your head just a little bit or tilt the screen to much and your perception of the colors change. You edit a bunch of photos and then wonder why the prints you get from the lab look like crap.

More important than the brand of the monitor is the electronics that make up the display.

(The following is sourced from Wikipedia.org and personal experience)