New google search engine...does it scare you too?

mygrain

Friend to nose goblins everywhere
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
desktop searches have been around for ages - its only natural for google to take it this far. Copernic and other had desktop searches long before google. The google toolbar is also scary because it offers to store your cc inform.

In my opinion here is neutral. It is another technology for people to manipulate. You can use any search engine to exploit holes in websites (I was able to root access to several mysql db's with the old MSN search for crying out loud :shock:). Bottom line: people are uneducated about security.

Many folks with broadband don't have firewalls, which is absolutely insane - i find this more of prevelent problem than search. As a researcher, i love google technology (i think yahoo & company have fine search technology as well). Basically, its up to the user to become educated and protect themselves. Firewalls, updating antivirus software, and applying patches to known issues - and for servers and networks a good ids system would be imperative!

So imagine if your 13 year old hacker comes along to your machine, you don't have a firewall, and he wants to find passwords, details and other stuff and you have google search installed- he's gonna find stuff in a matter of seconds and get out of there before you know whats happened! Its not nessesarily googles fault that you were breached, YOU didn't take the proper security precautions. Having a tool like google desktop search only expedites the process, not nessarily causes the intrusion.

So basically i am not too fussed about google desktop search, i just take the proper precautions beforehand! :D