New to Photo Editing Software

benjyman345

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,

I have been a keen photographer for many years but tend to do everything in camera.
I have decided to choose a photo editing software to do some light editing - (I.e. Exposure, colour, hue, saturation, contrast adjustments, sharpening, bracketing etc) on my Mac Laptop.
I may do a bit of raw photography but have not done so far.

I have used photoshop briefly in the past and found the simple adjustments easy enough but anything more was either to complicated or maybe I did not have the concentration or perseverance to learn the more technical aspects.

What are your suggestions for my situation:

* Photoshop Elements
* Apple Aperture
* Other

Thanks heaps.

rather than starting a new thread, why not search for the many previous threads on this topic?
then, if you have a more specific question, people can answer.

My simplest advice would be to download a free copy of Photoshop 5.5 and play with it a LOT during your free trial. Since the trial is time limited I would advise you do the following:

1. Gather up any photos you already have that you think could benefit from Photoshop.
2. Take a few new pictures specifically "screwing" them up in the fields you are looking at. Overexpose a few, underexpose a few, use incorrect white balance etc etc. Shoot these with the RAW + L format. This will allow you to fix a JPEG and adjust the RAW so you can see the difference it can make in shooting RAW.