newbie here! got some questions

asa67_stang

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
i'm sort of new at photography, from what i've heard from people, i've got a pretty good camera for a newbie (Pentax K1000) but i need some other stuff as well, i have a table-top tri-pod which i can usually get to work for my needs most of the time, but sometimes i get a bad result, and i can usually crop it so that the pic is level, but it really ruins a great picture
i know that most tripods should be the same, but are there any i should stay away from for any reason? cheaply made? bad materials? anything? going to need something half-way portable that i can wander around with and don't get tired of carrying
i'm also looking at buying a digital camera in the near future, not looking for top of the line, just something good that i can use regularly (i'm also into mechanics, and i like to snag pics of what i'm currently working on so that if i have a problem with it, i can post it on a forum and get some insight into it) anyone got any suggestions?

anyone got any info on what else i should get to help me get better pics? i know i need a zoom lens, that'll be coming up soon, anything else?

thanks
evan

PS - check here for some pics i've done recently,

ismael

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
You couldn't have a better camera. That was my first camera and guess what: 15 years later, it is still my workhorse. I have other cameras but for serious stuff: That's the only one I trust.
As for a tripod, I bought a Vanguard tripod at K-mart a few years ago. Nothing special, just an economical ( around $30) lightwight to throw around. It's very good for its price. I have a Canon tripod which is a bit bulkier. Try to get one with swivel and tilt head, so you can have more freedom to compose the frame.