Newbie's questions on filters and wide angle equipment

Fraser78

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Greetings everyone! I am delighted to have found this forum.

I'm a complete rookie in the photography world. A little while back I purchased a Nikon D60 kit with (I think) a nikkor 17-55 mm lens. Most of the time I just leave it on the auto setting and hope for the best when I snap shots, but I really want to get more into photography, especially outdoor nature shots and landsacpes.

In thumbing through some books, I've become very enthralled with two things: wide angle shots and filters. This leads me to a couple questions:
  • WIDE ANGLES - Do I have to buy a wide angle lens to explore this or can I get a wide angle attachment that will screw on to my existing lens? And can anyone recommend a budget priced option for this that will work with the lens I have?
  • FILTERS - If I want to start experimenting with these, what should I start with? A circular polarizer? And can anyone recommend an inexpensive one that gets at least a passing grade? I really just like to monkey around with photography--I don't need professional results and couldn't see myself shelling out tons of money for this hobby right now? But if there were acceptable options for say 40 or so, I'd look in to that.
Thanks so much for any thoughts or suggestions.

17mm on APS-C is a moderate wide-angle. The inexpensive fisheye lens thread-in attachments are actually kind of fun to play with, although the image quality is not super-high. As far as filters, YES, a circular polarizer from Hoya would be a good, reasonably-priced item to start with. Used filters are often quite a bargain' it might take a bit of looking to find used filters. Filters are very ofrten bought, used a few times, stored, then sold off, so there are LOADS of used filters floating around.

Cheap, Wal-Mart-quality $13.99 polarizers are not worth buying many times.