Nikon 3400 vs. Canon EOS Rebel T6

ski_rush

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As I stated in my previous post, I'm just starting out and looking for a camera to learn on. I'd love a Nikon d7200, but I'd rather see if I can do well with this before dropping that kind of money on a camera and lenses.

I came across a Canon Eos Rebel T6 kit for $499 with two lens (a 18-55mm & a 75-300mm). It seemed like a good price and I was thinking this could be a good beginner kit because I can use those lens in a Canon 80D later.

But...I also found a Nikon D3400 kit with two lens (18-55 and 70-300mm), but it's double the money, $1000.

On paper, the Nikon 3400 has better specs. Is that truly a better camera worth that much more money or is the price difference attributed to the higher cost of Nikon lens.

My other option is to piece together a kit myself with a used Nikon D7100 and lens on eBay.

Please let me know your thoughts and opinions. Thanks,

Yeah the D3300 has a cracking good sensor in it. IMO still the best entry level camera out there.

I came across a Canon Eos Rebel T6 kit for $499 with two lens (a 18-55mm & a 75-300mm). It seemed like a good price and I was thinking this could be a good beginner kit because I can use those lens in a Canon 80D later.

But...I also found a Nikon D3400 kit with two lens (18-55 and 70-300mm), but it's double the money, $1000.

On paper, the Nikon 3400 has better specs. Is that truly a better camera worth that much more money or is the price difference attributed to the higher cost of Nikon lens.

My other option is to piece together a kit myself with a used Nikon D7100 and lens on eBay.

Please let me know your thoughts and opinions. Thanks,