Nikon 80-200mm F/2.8 AF D "One Touch"

Silverbackmp

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just scored a near mint Nikon 80-200mm 2.8 AF D "One Touch" for $670 on a buy it now on Ebay (plus a reasonble $10 actual shipping charge). Can anyone telll me anything about the lens. Should have I gone with the "push pull" varient and/or held out for the AFS? I use a D80 if that helps. Even with a slightly slower auto focus I think I should be OK with a quick adjustment of the "one touch" for focusing (not sure about a focus lock). Also, is there a seperate hood for this lens?

As I am not a professional, therefore I don't think I need the newest profession level gear but I'm happy to have the professional level gear from 5 or 10 years ago at a discounted price.

Thanks

Snyder

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Photos NOT OK to edit
personally its a good lense, however I would never buy it, I would save the extra money to get a 70-200 Vr its just so much more superior to the 80-200 in every way. Just my 2 cents.

Antithesis

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.epanderson.com
Photos OK to edit
personally its a good lense, however I would never buy it, I would save the extra money to get a 70-200 Vr its just so much more superior to the 80-200 in every way. Just my 2 cents.

At 2-3 times the cost. The 80-200 is still a very good lens (similar optically to the 70-200 from what I've read, just no VR). I went and fiddled with one of the push-pull versions at a local camera shop and absolutely hated it (the focus ring focuses backwards to my only other push pull lens for my FG), so I think you'll be happy with the zoom ring version. I've heard good things about the AF-S version, but I don't think the AF-D version will give you much of an issue. I plan to buy one eventually and I'll probably end up with the AF-D.

photogincollege

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Photos OK to edit