Nikon D7000 vs. Canon T5i

deandavis

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a relative newbie to the dSLR world and was hoping to get some advice from all you experts out there.

I'm currently looking at getting either the Nikon D7000 or Canon T5i. The bundles I'm looking at are both similarly priced and come with similar lens kits.

I previously had a Nikon D80 (which I have since sold along with all lenses), and so I am used to Nikon's and their features/functions. I also like the size of the D7000.

On the other hand, the Canon appears to be a bit of a sharper camera in terms of image clarity and coloring which is what I'm looking for at the end of the day (although it does have a smaller sensor so perhaps it's just perception?).

I'd love to hear everyone's thoughts here on what they think is the better camera. Are there any "big picture" things that I should be considering or may be overlooking? Pardon the pun.

Thanks!
DD

The d7000 would be my recommendation simply because it is a more specced camera in terms of ergonomics and build. It has 2 control wheels, weather sealing and argumentatively a better sensor for dynamic range.

The Canon is a fine camera also with the swivel screen etc, but is more entry level.

Both are nice (I had the t2i which is a previous incarnation to the t5i but same sensor). I now have the d7100 which is the d7000 newer brother. I like both, but prefer the Nikon.

Thanks very much jaomul for then input! I'm leaning towards the D7000 too. I am familiar with the Nikon family, although I'm concerned with image quality given that the D7000 is a bit older (2011 I believe?). How do you think the T5i and D7000 compare in terms of image quality?