Nikon with Yongnuo 565EX and Nissin Di866, help with iTTL and CLS

Mystery

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am hoping someone has both of these speedlites and can help me understand a little bit about how to set them up. I am a beginner with photography and just barely got these as my first lights. I know I don't fully understand all this. I have done hours and hours of reading this weekend to try and figure it out myself before I came here asking for help, but I am getting to a point where I feel I am wasting my time because I might be expecting something this equipment just can't do. Hopefully, someone can set me straight.

Primarily, I am using one Nissin di866 and two Yongnuo 565EX's off camera in a studio environment. For this setup, I have little need to use TTL and will pretty much set everything up manually. This, I know how to do, albeit not very well, yet. However, I sprung a little extra cash to get these lights because they are advertised and discussed as being CLS compatible. I'll be honest, having only a few days experience with this equipment (camera included because I just upgraded from a D40 and D50 to a D300s this week too) I am having a really hard time understanding exactly what CLS is capable of and how it compares to TTL. It makes me wonder if CLS compatible means it works like a Nikon CLS light, or it just has a few features of CLS to make it "compatible". Reading around the net I see a lot of respected photographers talking about these lights and they all seem to have some conflicting comments. Some say they work perfectly with CLS, some say TTL only and no CLS and one even said the 565EX works with TTL on camera but you can't even trigger it off camera. Well, I've already been playing with these lights and I can certainly trigger it off camera in commander mode and adjust EV from the camera just fine, so I know my camera is triggering it.