Noobie here, but I have a few questions.

paulle

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm still learning the ropes to photography and I've been called upon by my school to take some pictures for our tennis team. Basically just individual pictures of the players and serves. I was just hoping to see what lens are good for this condition (hot&sunny) and what settings should I be prepared to use?

I've only got a Canon XTi with a 50mm f/1.8 lens, but looking towards to buying another one for sport events. Is a 70-300mm good for this or would I need another lens?

Thanks!

(any other tips and suggestions are appreciated) :D

I'm still learning the ropes to photography and I've been called upon by my school to take some pictures for our tennis team. Basically just individual pictures of the players and serves. I was just hoping to see what lens are good for this condition (hot&sunny) and what settings should I be prepared to use?

I've only got a Canon XTi with a 50mm f/8 lens, but looking towards to buying another one for sport events. Is a 70-300mm good for this or would I need another lens?

Thanks!

(any other tips and suggestions are appreciated) :D

For individual shots of the players, your 50mm is just fine. By the way, it's f/1.8, not f/8.

My suggestion is that you open up the lens to perhaps f/2 to f/2.8. Make certain that you have a sufficiently high shutter speed to give you a good exposure. (It might not be possible to open up that wide.) Opening up the lens will get your subject clear but the background blurred.