Older high quality model vrs newer lower quality model?

TheStupidForeigner

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, I'm getting ready to purchase my first ever DSLR but am a bit stuck on which one to get!

First of all I'm a very poor student so it's a huge investment even just for the cheapest options, for this reason I will of course be buying second hand or refurbished. I'll also probably be looking at slightly older models as they are much cheaper. But how old is it ok to go? Should I get a 4-5 year old high quality model or go with a much newer but lower quality camera? Or of course something in the middle?

I will be using the camera mostly for travel/landscape photography, but also a little bit for portraits. Also it MUST have a bracketing option as I do a lot of HDR in landscapes and sunsets. Oh and the price range (second hand) is around €300.

So what do you think? Any opinions, in general or about specific models are much appreciated!

I've been looking a lot at the canon rebel type, though while all the reviews for a beginner camera are good I don't know why I have some negative feelings about it....

The older higher quality models usually cost as much or more as the newer but lower quality models.
A Nikon D300 (body only, no lens) used is about $50 more than a new D3100 that comes with a 18-55 mm kit lens and a 1 year warranty.

Not sure what you can get for €300 in the UK but in Canada you can roughly get a new Nikon D3100 or Canon T3 both are good very basic DSLR

The older higher quality models usually cost as much or more as the newer but lower quality models.
A Nikon D300 (body only, no lens) used is about $50 more than a new D3100 that comes with a 18-55 mm kit lens and a 1 year warranty.

Exactly, so considering that they are around the same price, which would you go with?