Pentax K-30 over the Nikon D5100 - worth the extra £60?

adamjohnlewis

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
After carrying round a trusty old compact in my pocket for the last two years, it has finally died on me. I've decided, considering the number of photos I take, it's time to take photography more serious and invest in a dSLR... I'm a complete beginner at dSLR, but I want to learn and really get into this new hobby. After much research I narrowed my choice down to the d3200 or d5100, deciding on the latter as a user looks less likely to outgrow it. However just before I took the plunge even further into my student overdraft, I did a little more research I came across the weatherprooth pentax k-30. I found it with a 18-55mm weatherproof lense for £425. The cheapest I have found the D5100 is £360.

One of the questions I have is how un-weather resistant is a d5100? I have a job as a ski rep and would love to take my camera up on the mountain with me (on days when I'm not planning on skiing anything to extreme). Obviously the K-30 would be better for this considering it's cold resistant. But I was wondering is it a really bad idea to take the average dSLR (such as the D5100) out in freezing conditions? I also plan on hiking/travelling a fair bit over the next few years, are dSLRs really delicate or are they ok with a few knocks here and there?

On snapsort the K-30 camera comes out considerably better Nikon D5100 vs Pentax K-30 - Our Analysis . However I've read the auto-focus leaves a lot to be desired on the k-30 and the d5100 comes out on top.