pentax K10D or Nikon D60

omar c

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hello people i'm planning to buy my first step in model camera but since i'm a complete newbie when it comes to specs and camera knowledge i'm hoping that some of you fine people might want to help me out here...

my budget is about 550 Euro MAX

and i'm not sure on what camera is most bang for my buck...reasson i'm asking here is that in literaly every store i get different awnsers and i have the idea they just want to sell stuff...

i'm having doubts between the "nikon D60" kit or the "Pentax K10D" kit...the pentax is only 20 euro's more expensive than the nikon ...

what would you guys/lady's recomand me to buy and could you please explain why without keeping it to technical :hugs:...i'm still learning here folks

i would really appreciate anny help.

kind regards

If you are happy to go with the Pentax system, the K10D has a lot to offer for the money, weather sealing etc, buit in IS and lots more. Great build quality too.

I shoot with canons, so I'm not just pushing the brand I use.:mrgreen:

Let me be the first to admit that I shoot and love Pentax and K mount cameras (I have a Ricoh film SLR).

However, the K10D and the D60 are not in the same class. The K10D is a higher-end camera with more advanced features, the D60 is aimed at beginners and has some serious limitations. The only reason the prices are the same is that D60 is brand new and the K10D is being replaced by the K20D. The K10D is simply a better camera.

Additionally, the Pentax DSLRs are compatible with an amazing back catalog of lenses that can be had for almost nothing. I just got a 50mm f/2 AND a Ricoh 35mm SLR for $21. That's tough to beat.

hey thanks for replying guys, i really appreciate the help...