Picture Quality & DPI Assistance

JuiceMC

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've taken pictures throughout my life. I was even in yearbook and helped manage the school website in high school. But over the past couple of weeks I've realized I'm far from a pro when it comes to knowing about cameras. I can definitely use some help and guidance from people who are knowledable. That brought me here!

Anyways, let me get to it. I was recently contacted about submitting some photos to a magazine. The pictures they are intested in are of my garden. I have always taken pictures of my garden and I've have always been impressed with the snaps I took. The magazine informed me that in order to have your picture published in the magazine, you would need a couple things. One, you need a camera that is 5mb+. And two, if you want to get on the cover or have a full page you need to have 300+ dpi. I thought I was in luck because my camera says 5M and 2560x1920 resolution.

Honestly, I wasn't sure what dpi even was. I asked and was informed, "dpi means dots per inch, it measures how the image will come out in print, most people use higher for print and lower on websites as on a website it slows the site down and in print if it isn't high enough the picture will pixelate in print and look dotty poor quality."

I sent a group of images to them thinking my images were up to par. The magazine thought that my camera was good enough from the sample image I sent them before I sent the group of images, so I was surprised when I received a message asking if I edited the pictures because they seemed to be lower quality. I let them know I may have cropped some of them, but I didn't edit them any further then that. I looked at the properties of the pictures and the dpi was showing up as 72.000 instead of the 300.000+ dpi I need. Is this due to my camera or an uploading issue?