Piggy back ride - c&c please!

sjconner

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.conner-images.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I took this picture during the branding - a quick off the cuff shot. I think it is a little out of focus and that I should have made the DOF narrower. Any other suggestions? I will probably get my girls to restage this shot. I like the concept but don't think I pulled it off as well as I could have.

Thanks, Susan

Honestly I don't like the concept. The subject is too small, focus is off, too much empty space on all sides, no faces in the shot, the truck is distracting, and I couldn't even tell it as a child getting a piggy back ride at first. The only thing I do like is the contrast between the colors of the pink jackets, blue pants, and green background.

Just my opinion, but if the subjects were turned around and facing the camera instead of walking away it would double the value of this shot.

This is all just my opinion, and I'm a noob, so don't take it to heart.

I kinda like the girls a little blurred. I don't know why but I think it's just a little different. I would maybe crop some of the trees above, but that's just me. I'm curious to see what others think.

I agree with scorp on all counts.

A photo like this may be (and most likely is) very valuable to you, with lots of meaning and sentimental appeal. That's good, but when a random person (such as myself) views it, they may not get that appeal. I think one of the big hurdles of photography is learning how to make a pleasing image that appeals to a wide range of people - and it's one I'm constantly tripping over myself.

I agree with reznap! I honestly didn't even think about the sentimental value of the shot to you. I have literally HUNDREDS of shots that I would never post on here due to embarassment of my wife and daughter, but I wouldn't delete them for anything!