polarizing filter - need help

twohearted

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, I am new to this forum; happy to be here and looking forward to learning a lot and having some good discussions.

At the moment, I have a question about purchasing a circular polarizing filter. I have done a fair amount of reading, including a search of posts on this topic on this forum, and from that I have concluded that the bottom line on polarizers is (surprise, surprise) you get what you pay for. Fair enough.

That being said, I need to find a filter of decent quality within my price range, which is less than $100. I am primarily a hobbyist/recreational photographer, but I actually bought my DSLR because I have started doing some articles for a fly fishing magazine, too, which need to be illustrated with lots of water and landscape photography, hence the need for the polarizer.

My camera is a Canon Rebel T3i with the 18-55 f3.5-5.6 kit lens and a 75-300mm f4-5.6 zoom.

Any recommendations would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Bryon

Last edited:
The trick is to get a CPL that has a big enough filter thread size to fit the biggest lens you expect to own - and then use step rings to use that big CPL on smaller lenses.

Both of your current lenses have 58 mm filter threads.
B+W is a top brand:
B+W 58mm Circular Polarizer with Multi-Resistant Coating

As long as you don't expect to be needing to thread any other filters to the front of your CPL, you could get a 'slimline' version that has no threads on the front of the CPL. The slimline versions cost a bit less, in part because many of them aren't 'multi-coated' which is desirable..

B+W 77mm Circular Polarizer with Multi-Resistant Coating
Fotodiox Metal Step-up Ring, 58mm-77mm

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.