Printing Image Size

kshort

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi! I am new to professional photography and to this forum, (I checked the other threads but didn't find anything specifically dealing with my issue). I have no formal training but have been doing jobs for quite some time and just recently decided to do it FT. In so doing I signed up with a printing company and they are requiring the images be sent in a certain way.

I use Canon Digital Rebel XT EOS.
My company requires the images at 300DPI and 600 pixels on longest side. And the file size to be at least 300KB or 2-5megabites.

My problem is that my files are apparently too small and I'm not sure how to get them large enough.

The original files are large enough but when I take the image into Photoshop and change the DPI and pixels, (under image size I'm changing the pixel height and the resolution, DPI, or PPI) and even after saving at maximum image quality, (12) the file size is never big enough, (i.e.: 2-5 Megabites).

So my two questions are:

1. How do I get an image to meet these requirements? What am I doing wrong?

2. Is there any way I can still get my small image files to meet these requirements?

Any help on this would be outstanding! Thank you in advance for your time.

Welcome to the forum.

Firstly, it's PPI (pixels per inch), not DPI...(DPI is a printer setting)...and it doesn't really matter, you can change it to anything you want. If they want 300 PPI, then set it to that via the Image/Size dialog in PS.

The important number is the size of the image in pixels. 600 pixels wide is really only good for screen viewing, it's not big enough for most printing applications.

Your camera records images at a much bigger size than 600 pixels, so I'm not sure why you want to make it smaller, unless they are only for screen viewing. As such, when you do resize them, the file size shrinks quite a bit.