RAW?

eminart

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Can someone give me a good explanation of exactly what "RAW" is and the primary uses?

As I understand (and I'm not too sure about this), the camera normally decides the general appearance and makeup of a photo and throws away any unused information. In RAW mode, the camera decides nothing and all the info is kept?

If I'm right, what exactly is the advantage? I'm guessing it allows for a greater range of manipulation? Is that it?

I'm still learning what all the buttons do on my D80, so this is a bit beyond me, but I did shoot a couple of shots in RAW the other day just out of curiosity.

Here's one of them. I obviously "warmed" it up a lot.

RawPhoto.jpg

Really, seriously....not meaning to be rude by any means. Do a search on this one....it has been over-explained in countless threads. Primarily, no compression of your image, and much easier post processing in graphics programs. If you are still learning, set your camera on fine/large JPEG, go shoot, and have fun. You have enough to worry about just learning your camera, don't get yourself overwhelmed with too many other things as well.

Well what's the point in a forum if we're just going to search for everything that's ever been posted? Seriously, it's all on google. I don't need a forum if I'm just going to read already written explanations.

At least I did post it in the newbie section with all the other redundant questions.

And, I'm not easily overwhelmed. I like to know everything. ;)

Well, I shoot in RAW. Mostly because of how I can edit the picture later on.

I just like it more because I think it gives me more control over how the picture will turn out in the end.

You're right. The camera basically saves all variables it considers when taking a picture.