Redirected to a reported Web Forgery page

JimMcClain

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
1footinthegrave.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I received a thread subscription notification email and clicked the link to visit the first new post in that thread. As soon as the page loaded in my Firefox browser, another tab opened and attempted to take me to another website. This is usually the default behavior when, 1. you click a link in a vBulletin post, or 2. the webmaster has added the target="_blank" or target="_new" attribute to links via template edits, or 3. when attributes are hard-coded into the software. But I have also discovered, as a webmaster myself, that this behavior can be the result of a malicious ad that has been served by the ad delivery system.

I didn't click anything on the TPF page to visit any links or ads.

I don't know what caused it in this case. I searched the source code for the page and found nothing unusual. I hope that the forum administrators can look into it and that any other members of TPF that have experienced this recently will share what information they can. Below is a screenshot I took of the FF warning. The address of the page I was redirected to is in the address bar of the screenshot.

$tpf-redirect-warning.jpg

Jim
PS: admin, please allow uploading GIF images for this forum to save space.