Shooting Sunglasses in Light Tent

lhadaj

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there, I have been shooting sunglasses for a few years and want to overcome hurdles I have to improve the quality and efficiently of my images.

I shoot with a Canon 400D with a stock standard lens that came with the kit. I shoot these days in RAW ISO 100 f/:11. 1/8.

Here is a link to my page that shows my current set up and also some before and after images of the sunglasses I edit.

Flickr: lhadaj's Photostream

The first thing I would like to fix is the shadows and lighting of the sunglasses. I want to reduce the shadows as to reduce editing time and also show more detail at the front of the frames. I am thinking of purchasing two sets of lights from the below link. One on top of the light tent pointing directly down on the glasses and going on the backdrop to hopefully reduce the shadows. The second to be at the front of the light tent where I will have my camera sitting in the middle of the light to highlight the sunglasses more clearly.

http://www.digpro-studio.com/product...c6afa8b709170c

The next problem I have is the biggest. Lenses reflect and pickup things in the background. As you can see in the before examples from my photos, there are lines that run through the lens and difference in shade. It is mostly easy enough to edit out the slit in the sheet where the camera sits but editing out the lines and shades is way too time consuming and doesn't give a good enough result I am after. Only thing I can think of is to find some kind or spherical light tent with no seams or custom make one.

The last issue is dealing with white frames, is there an easy way to shoot so they don't wash out with the backdrop?

Also if there are any other tips you can think of that would be great.