shot to print ratio

TurboRaddo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hello everyone. my first post on the forums even though i've been reading them for a couple weeks now. i used to shoot a lot of photos in high school through my frist two years of college (all black and white film developing everything myself), and then it kind of slipped away. just getting back into photography as a hobby after getting a canon rebel xt off of a friend for real cheap (he bought it and never used it).
well on to my question. i was basically just wondering on average, how many actual shots people are taking compared to the amt of actual prints/photos they work with. being a beginner i find myself really liking and working with 1 photo out of about 40 shots. and even then i may not like the finished product. it seems to me that with film i was trying to get 50% of my shots to work out as prints, but with digital i can just keep snapping pictures without going through that development process so i am scrapping way more pictures.
thanks for your input!!!

I find it depends on what I'm shooting.

If I'm doing house photos it's take 3, use 1. Product shots on location I have a ratio of take 3 - keep 1. If I'm doing cars, it's Take 1 - Use 1, If I'm doing portraits it's more like take 10 - Use 1. If it's sport it's Take 40 - Use 1.

But then again, that just shows you what I take photos of a lot.

Don't worry about your ratio, just keep taking photos - but don't waste them. Try and learn something from each mistake you make. :) Then you'll see your 'ratio' even out a bit.