Should I get a Canon SX30IS?

LuigiVN

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello fellas.

I'm a beginner photographer, I've got some experience from some friends who are really good photographers (even won some awards) and have kickass gear (40D, T2i, $3000 lenses etc etc etc) and I'd really like to step up from my familysh compact Lumix to a decent camera. I do not want a DSLR because I can hardly afford the SX30IS and can't really spend more money on lens and other gear so DLSR is a no go for me. Bridges are really nice, except for their small sensor compared to features. A friend also recommends me the Canon G12 since it has a better sensor, more settings and RAW mode but I'd miss the super zoom from the SX30IS because it's mostly what I'm looking for, a big zoom. I've looked to some other cameras like the Panasonic FZ100 or canon S95 but the FZ100 lenses have an incredibly high aberration and don't really like the S95. (I'm open to more suggestions. I want something between $200 and $370)

Since I'm a begginer and would be learning by myself and my buddies (maybe later get into a photography class) should I get the SX30IS?

Thanks.

I know from experience. P&S cameras with big zooms are very difficult to handhold and use at such distance. As far as your question goes, I know nothing about those cameras so I can't really help on specs and what not. I'd suggest saving up for a DSLR. Both Canon and Nikon have entry level cameras that come with a kit lens.

Thanks for the reply. I wouldn't like a DSLR for the moment, zoom is a pretty important feature for me and a decent zoom lens is pretty expensive.

Like you said, large sensors and large zooms don't go together on compact cameras.
The SX30 is a great camera, if you know its limitations, which you do.
You will probably not get high quality images in low light situations, hand holding the camera taking photos of kids running about.